Banana is my go to fruit when I want to bake, and but I don’t know what.  I’ll pick up a bunch of bananas some point in the week–have some for breakfast or a snack for a few days…and by the end of the week I have some awesomely ripe and black bananas. Perfect!  Michael knows that by the time the bananas are spotted, he knows they’re off limits to him.

I already have a go to banana nut bread recipe, but found one that was more cinnamon intensive and knew it would be perfect for my niece and nephews!  I was heading to San Francisco for MLK weekend, and wanted to bring them something a tad healthier than the Chocolate S’more Cookies (Plus I was getting over a terribly nasty cold I had been fighting for 2 weeks, so I didn’t have too much energy for anything more labor intensive).

I think that I still love my default banana nut bread recipe–but this recipe was also very, very good.  Major differences?  This recipe is much lighter on the banana flavor.  The next time I make this recipe, I may add an additional banana.  The flavors were much more subtle overall.  The saving grace to this recipe?  It’s also much a lot less sweet than my default recipe–which I actually really enjoyed.  I will be reducing the sugar in my original banana nut bread recipe the next I make it.

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

good for one 9×5 loaf

  • 3 over-ripe bananas, mashed up
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

For the swirl:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Butter and flour a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. Mix bananas, butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla together. Sprinkle top of mixture with baking soda and salt. Gently stir in flour. Mix just enough to combine.
  3. In a small dish, mix together the 1/4 cup sugar and 1 Tbs cinnamon.
  4. Add 1/2 of the batter to the loaf pan and then a little more than sprinkle half of the cinnamon-sugar mixture all over the batter in the pan. Add the rest of the batter, and then sprinkle the leftover cinnamon-sugar on top.
  5. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  6. Allow bread to rest in pan for 20 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool.
Adapted from Lovin’ From the Oven
