I really tried to do that marathon of cookie baking that bloggers are all about during the holidays.  It started out ahead of pace–making two cookies in the first week.  And well, that was it until the week of Christmas.  What can I say other than it was a lot of poor planning and procrastination on my part. Next year! Next year, I’ll have a whole menu of cookies set up and I too will be one of the awesome bloggers who offer up a handful of cookies for you try BEFORE the holidays end. Well, it’s a good thing these cookies are scrumptious and can be eaten anywhere, anytime, and anyplace.

I will say this first–I’ve never been a fan of chocolate on chocolate cookies such as this one.  It’s always been a death-by-chocolate issue to me. I love chocolate, but a good cookie/dessert has to offer more than just chocolate decadence.  And well, these cookies definitely do.  They’re chewy and soft.  They have an incredibly smooth chocolate flavor.

Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that this cookie is deliciously versatile.  Ice cream cookie sandwich, anyone? I know, what cookie wouldn’t pair wonderfully with vanilla ice cream.  I’m just gonna have to ask you to trust me on this one. It’s amazing!  The slight bitterness of chocolate with vanilla ice cream is simple, yes, but still one of the most comforting desserts to serve up on a cold, rainy day.

Chewy Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes ~20 cookies

Ingredients

2/3 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup baking cocoa (I used Dutch-processed chocolate. I’ve also used Hershey’s special dark)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa, salt and baking soda in a bowl and set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, cream shortening, sugar, water and vanilla. Beat in eggs one at a time, blend until combined.
  4. Gradually add dry ingredients to creamed mixture and beat just until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 in. apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  6. Bake at for 6-9 minutes taking care not to overbake them.  Allow the cookies to cool for 2 minutes on the pan before transferring to wire rack to cool.
–This is an old recipe I printed off while in college…I have no idea where it originally came from!
