I LOVE banana nut bread and I’ve accepted that banana nut bread will never be healthy.  Yeah, it’s dark brown–makes you think of wheat bread–and it somehow registers that its healthy.  No? Not you?  The things my mind will resort to make rationalize my baking.

Either way, this recipe is sooooooooooooo good.  I always have a pile of ripening bananas in my apartment.  I buy tons of them hoping Mike will actually eat some fruit, and they always end up ripening faster than I can eat.  I suppose this is one  way to get him to eat some fruit.  Works out just fine for my mom, who asks for banana nut bread every other week.  This recipe gives you 2 huge loaves of banana nut bread–and if you have no plans of giving the other away, it’s probably a good idea to cut the recipe in half–eating too much is detrimental to your waistline.   I have a good system going on here–we go halfsies with Mike’s mom.

Enjoy!

 

Banana Nut Bread

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup butter, partially melted and cooled
  • 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups white sugar (Depending on how sweet you like it. I keep mine steady at 1 1/4)
  • 2  1/2  cups mashed super,overripe bananas
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease two 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. Sift the flour, salt and baking soda into a large bowl.
  3. In a microwave safe bowl, cut each stick of butter in half.  Throw in microwave and partially melt butter for about 30 seconds. Allow to cool–3-5 minutes.
  4. Now in the bowl of your electronic stand mixer, blend the butter and sugar until smooth. On low, stir in the bananas, eggs, cinnamon, vanilla,  and walnuts until well blended.
  5. Add dry ingredients to mixture and mix on low until combined.  Divide the batter evenly between the two loaf pans.
  6. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the loaf comes out clean. Let the loaves cool in the pans for at least 5 minutes,
  7. Transfer to rack to cool completely.
  8. Slice when ready to serve.
  9. Tastes fantastic at any temperature!
