So…I’ve been terribly lazy.  I haven’t made a thing in the last week.  Mike’s been studying at school for his midterms (last 2 are this Thursday–thank goodness!) and I couldn’t bring myself to step foot in the kitchen if no one was going to be around to eat it.  Even worse–I’ve been eating out for lunch at work.  Not such a great start at saving money for the wedding.  So, after spending $7.50 on a mediocre boar’s head sandwich today, I decided  it was time to get my act together.

A few weeks ago, Mike and I were at Crema in Seal Beach for brunch.  Because he was being quite the party pooper, he opted to have lunch instead of breakfast.  What was he thinking?  Either way, needless to say, he was unsatisfied with the lack of eggs and syrup and noshed on my breakfast.  The highlight of his meal though, was a fantastic bowl of Italian Wedding Soup.  It was delicious!  There was no doubt in my mind i was going to give it whirl in my own kitchen.  And why not?  It’s a fairly easy dish to pull off.

Tonight, alone in my apartment and kinda missing his face, I decided to have a big pot of soup ready for his return at 11:15.  I’ll get a whole 30 minutes with him before I have to go to bed and get ready for work the next morning.  Wow, as I write this…I realize how much I miss him.  Okay, onward with this post.  Luckily, I had most of the ingredients in my fridge (with the exception of endive, but baby spinach is a great substitute in my book).

Preparation takes a tad longer than cooking time–but  you won’t be disappointed.  This is such a tasty and cheap dinner to put together on short notice.

Italian Wedding Soup

Ingredients

Meatballs:

1 small onion, grated
1/3 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
1 large egg
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 bread crumbs
3/4  cup grated Parmesan
8 ounces ground beef
8 ounces ground turkey
Freshly ground black pepper

Soup:

12 cups low-sodium chicken broth
6 oz orzo pasta
6 oz baby spinach
2 large eggs
2 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan, plus extra for garnish
Salt, paprika,  and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

To make the meatballs: Stir the grated onion, Italian parsley, egg, garlic, salt, and bread crumbs in a large bowl to blend. Stir in the cheese, beef and turkey. Using 1 1/2 teaspoons for each, shape the meat mixture into 1-inch-diameter meatballs. Place on a baking sheet and set aside.

To make the soup: Bring the broth to a boil  in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the meatballs and orzo and simmer  until the meatballs are cooked through and orzo is tender.  This should take about 8 minutes or so.  Add spinach.  In the meantime, whisk the eggs and cheese in a medium bowl to blend. Stir the soup in a circular motion. Gradually drizzle the egg mixture into the moving broth, stirring gently with a fork to form thin stands of egg, about 1 minute. Add 1 tsp of paprika, stir to mix.  Season the soup to taste with salt and pepper.

Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis


