For most of my life, I refused to try bread pudding.  Not because I had a particularly bad experience–but I just couldn’t get with the idea that mushy baked bread was going to be any good.  I was stubborn and I believed, as though I had eaten bread pudding my whole life, that it was really going to taste like mushy balls of milk flavored bread.  Bleh.  Cue Mike, the boy wonder who eats anything and everything.  I kid you not, he ate waffles, syrup and tuna his whole life.  And I don’t mean waffles and syrup and a side of tuna…but I mean pile one on top of the other.  He swore by it.  It was the breakfast of champions.

In high school, we’d go to hometown buffet after a movie (coupons, people…we had tons of them!) and he’d always finish off that awful meal with a bowl of hot bread pudding.  And I think because I loved him, I was willing to try it because he loved it.  Yes, I really typed that last sentence 🙂  Ahhh…fiancehood (it’s a word in my world) it really takes you to a whole new level of cheese).  Either way, I’m certainly a fan now.  Now, I probably won’t order this in a restaurant, unless their description is out of this world.  Why?  It’s because this recipe is just absolutely amazing!  The bananas and chocolate really enhance what’s already a rich, custardy bread pudding.    This is simply the easiest dessert I’ve ever made.   It’s definitely a wonderful comfort food–and tastes wonderful served hot or cold.

Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding

Ingredients

4 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1/2 heavy whipping cream
3/4 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
4 cups cubed French bread
3 bananas, sliced
1 cup chopped chocolate
dash of cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 325° F and grease a 9×5 bread pan.  In a large mixing bowl, mix eggs, milk, cream,  sugar, and vanilla until smooth.
  2. Stir in bread, bananas, cinnamon and chocolate chips, and allow bread to absorb milk mixture.  I like to leave it for 10 minutes.  Pour mixture in prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for1 hour, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
