I decided to go with pink frosting...but I guess white works 😛

 

 

Say what?! I dream about making tons of things–salted caramels, chicken pot pie, a three layer cake…and when I get really crazy, I think about giving french macarons a go.  One thing that never crosses my mind? Reproducing “America’s Favorite Cookie.”   A homemade oreo?  Really?  I will say this–the minute I saw this recipe, I knew I’d make it.  I felt it in my bones…moreover, I began to salivate at the very thought.

Let me say one thing about this dangerous cookie.  It’s freaking delicious.  The chocolate cookie is just amazing.  Dark, slightly crisp, and wonderfully chewy.  It’s the ultimate cookie. You almost don’t need the frosting.  But who are we fooling?  Eating desserts has nothing to do with necessity.  You put a cookie or a cupcake in your mouth and we all know what logic there was went out the window 3 minutes before.  This cookie is pure indulgence.  Does it taste like an Oreo?  Kinda, but my brain didn’t focus on anything other than the fact that this was one damn good cookie.

The recipe is super easy, but once ingredient will make all the difference–Dutch Processed Cocoa Powder.  If you want a thin cookie crust, make sure you use Dutch Processed Cocoa.  I don’t know what it is–but it makes the cookie super flat.  It really makes all the difference.  I made one bath with Hershey’s cocoa powder and they fluffed up and the cookie sandwich looked more like a whoopie pie than it did an oreo.  If you don’t  have it, it’s really not a huge deal–it’s still absolutely delicious.  But if you have the Dutch cocoa on hand or if you’re willing to get it, do.

Let me pass along some advice that Smitten Kitchen offered to her readers.  This is a sweet cookie.  If you’re like me, than you’re going to want to minimize how sweet the chocolate wafer is, considering how sweet the frosting is.  The original recipe says you can use anywhere from 1 cup of sugar to 1 1/2 cup.  If you enjoy it sweet, by all means go for the full amount.  I on the other hand have never done so.  I would limit the sugar to 1 1/4 cup at the most–even then the cookie is still quite sweet.  I may just limit it to one cup the next time to see how that goes.

Homemade Oreos

For the chocolate wafers:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 large egg

For the filling:
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
1 3/4-2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Set two racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 375°F.

In a bowl of an electric mixer, thoroughly mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar. While  on low speed, add the butter, and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough begins to clump into one large mass away from side of the bowl.

Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough. Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once halfway thru. Allow cookie to rest on baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool.

To make the cream, place butter and shortening in a mixing bowl, and at low speed, gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.

To assemble the cookies, transfer frosting to pastry bag with a medium sized round tip.  Once cookies are cool, take 1/2 the cookies and pipe 1 tbsp of frosting in the middle of each cookie.  Now take a cookie of equal size and place gently on frosted cookie.  Press lightly, and gently manuever the cookie back and forth to spread the filling evenly around. Continue until all the cookies have been sandwiched with cream.

Got Milk?  I sure hope so…

Recipe courtesy of Smitten Kitchen.

