Chocolate Valrhona Cupcakes with Cream Cheese frosting and Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Boston Cream Pie--Pastry Cream filling topped with Chocolate Ganache

So guys, i know I haven’t posted anything in a few days.  In the interest of being coherent, I decided it was best to recover before posting about my CRAZY catering experience.  As I mentioned before, i was stoked about being booked for my boss’s 4th of July party!  After much deliberation I decided on a menu.  25 Valrhona Cupcakes, 25 Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes, and 20 individual fruit tarts.  We were initially going to do some sort of fruit heavy birthday cake for his wife, but she’s not huge on cake, so I thought it would be a good idea to do something a bit different.

I was nervous. Anxious. Most certainly stressed out.  Outside of the Valrhona cupcakes, I had never made anything on the menu.  I was very confident in my abilities.  My fail?  I just didn’t anticipate the amount of time it would take to make all these items.  I worked Friday, rushed home and began baking at 7pm.  Worked straight until 8:30pm when I took an  hour for dinner with Mike…and…wait for it…continued to bake nonstop until 7:10am.  Yes, you read that correctly.  7:10am.  And here’s the kicker–I wasn’t done.  I still had to assemble all the cupcakes–and more importantly–I had to start on the fruit tarts. So, the alarm was set for 7:40am (30 minutes…I can’t believe it) and I worked like a madman until delivery at noon.

I know, it’s hard to imagine how anything like this could take that long–but when  you only have one oven, one Kitchen Aid mixer, and one bowl attachment–you are screwed.  Thank goodness I had the foresight to create white chocolate stars and the pastry cream Thursday night.  I would have been majorly EFFED if I had not.

Fresh Organic Berries from the Farmer's Market

So, the goods were delivered… and I couldn’t have been more relieved.  My only gripe is that in my rush, i wasn’t able to capture too many good shots of my work.  Mike works on Saturday, so I didn’t have any help with the transportation or with any of the minor last minute touches.  And I lied. I have several gripes.  Two, my kitchen and the surrounding areas were just disgusting! Bowls everywhere, food dyes all over my hands, face, and counter…it was terrible messy.  Could I have possibly done all this?  Can I blame entropy?  I tried that argument with a visibly shocked Mike that morning…and I could tell he did all he could to not strike me 🙂  Oh…and did I mention I was also suppose to make cheesecake for a birthday party the following day.  Yeah, it brought tears to my eyes.

Either way, I just wanted to share some pictures with you and I’ll be writing up the recipe shortly.

Before I go, you should know that this was an extremely difficult but rewarding challenge.  I’ve learned so much about my process and I really shocked myself with how much I was able to push myself.  I am so grateful to have had such an opportunity and I really hope I’ll be able to do this again.

