I love summer.  I love laying out on the beach, I love being able to take out the summer dresses, and I love how wonderfully carefree this time of year feels.  I’m a bit of a workaholic, so while I don’t always get the opportunity to enjoy the warm weather during the weekdays, I try my best to make the most of my weekends.   And one of my favorite Saturday morning routines?  Heading out to the local Farmer’s Market for fresh fruit and vegetables.  I love how wonderfully fresh, sweet, and fragrant berries are this time of year!  Strawberries are super sweet (and fortunately super cheap!) and the blueberries…blueberries!  They’re just amazing! It’s unfortunate that they’re still on the pricier side, but hey…you can justify spending money on quality fruit.

And well, I’m an impulsive shopper.  Since I’m a regular, the vendor offered an awesome deal on berries I couldn’t refuse–buy 2 get 1 free.  So, off i went with three huge baskets of berries that I knew I would never be able to finish before they would spoil.  So, after two days of eating berries at every meal, I could see that my poor blueberries weren’t in such good shape.  So, rather than wasting these blue balls of sugar, I decided to make some blueberry muffins for breakfast.  I know, I have just morphed these super healthy, antioxidant machines into unhealthy, but oh-so-good muffins.

I love how oozy the blueberries become!

Yeah, these things were pretty money. If you’re looking to cut back on the fat a bit, I would skip out on the crumb topping.  The muffins are certainly moist and flavorful enough to stand on their own.

Blueberry Crumb Muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup milk
1 1/4 cup fresh blueberries

Crumb Topping
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, cubed
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Add vanilla, and mix until blended.  Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  3. To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.
Adapted from Allrecipes.com
