I think I’m going to have to take a break from desserts.  I can feel the sugar coursing through my veins and I’m pretty sure Mike’s eyes are glazed over on a daily basis.  While I haven’t made too many new desserts, I made peanut butter pie for a coworker’s birthday just last week and made some strawberry cheesecakes and s’more cupcakes for a graduation this weekend.  Needless to say, I’m a bit tired of sugar. And I’m kinda wiped out.

On a bright note, it’s been a very productive few weeks for me.  I had my first order for desserts last month.  And since then, things have kind of picked up a bit 🙂  I’m very grateful to those who thought of me for their events. That said,  I just finished desserts for a college graduation party this weekend, I have a birthday party in a week, and then an order for a 4th of July party.  So, I’m super excited and I’m having a wonderful time.  Though, I must admit, I feel terrible for my poor boyfriend.  I’m not exactly the the friendliest person under stress (especially, since I take my baking very seriously and I don’t deal too well with any type of mishap.  To boot, if you’ve read my “About me” section or if you know me well enough, then you’ll know that I’m very critical of myself and I obsess a bit over my work).   I totally acknowledge that I shot Mike one too many dirty looks and might have bit his head off after he asked me one too many questions about what I was doing.  I’m so sorry!  But I bought him some boba afterwards and all is good in Mangela world again.

I also just want to put it out there–Mike is the best boyfriend in the world.  After dropping off the goods, I could barely keep my eyes open.  Before dozing off,  he gave me a really nice massage.  I really, really like him 🙂

Anyway, back to the baking.  I’ve decided to keep it healthy and devoid of any excess sugar.  I found a great recipe for some strawberry banana muffins.  Keep in mind, these are healthy and they are definitely healthy tasting.  I know, I totally just unsold these little sluggers…but in all honesty, I really enjoyed them.  They’re not overly sweet and you can really taste the banana and the strawberry.  If you’re Vietnamese or familiar with some of the cuisine, the consistency of these muffins are similar to the Vietnamese Banana cakes wrapped in banana leaf.  Their chewy and dense.

Look, if you’re looking for a healthy muffin that tastes like a full fat muffin–you’re SOL.  But if you’re looking for a healthy muffin that’s rather tasting, by all means give it a go.  Mike had two and he had his fill.  Simply put, it’s too “healthy” for the genetically blessed boyfriend of mine who could eat like the world’s ending and gain only a few ounces.

Oh…and this might pique your interest a bit–each serving is less than 1 gram of fat and is only about 100 calories.

Healthy Strawberry Banana Muffins

Makes 6 muffins

1 cup chopped strawberries
2 tbsp agave
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 ripe banana, mashed (I like to use spotted bananas)
2 tbsp applesauce (I used strawberry applesauce from Whole Foods)

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line 6 muffin tins with paper liners, spray the paper liners with non stick spray (trust me…without it, they stick like crazy).  In a small bowl combine the chopped strawberries with  agave nectar.  Mix thoroughly. Let that sit while you are making the rest of the dough. In a another bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. In a third bowl combine the mashed banana, egg, applesauce and vanilla. Add the dry mixture to the banana mixture. Mix with a fork just until combined. Fold in the strawberries mixture.  Fill the muffin liners all the way to the top.  They rise just a bit, so you won’t have a problem with it overflowing.

Bake for 25-28 minutes.

Adapted from here
