I’m at the age where everyone around me seems to be getting married/engaged.  I think I congratulate someone on an almost weekly basis now.  So, because I’m a girl…and because I’d like to be engaged myself someday (probably not going to happen for a while…heck, I’ve only been with Michael for 11 years now), I looked thru a few wedding websites my friends were obsessed with.  And lo and behold…i was inspired, but not in the way they were.  Sure, I the girl in me thought “I want this at my wedding!” but for the most part, I was super intrigued by the dessert buffets.  How beautiful! Petit fours, cupcakes, truffles, AND CAKE POPS!  I know, I’m late.  It’s not to say I’ve never seen then before, I was just surprised how taken with them I was this time around.

So off to the market to buy all the necessary materials.  I have to tell you, I was pretty psyched.  And I’ll follow that comment with this–this was hands one of the most frustrating projects I’ve ever taken on.  And I’ve worked with fondant.  Honestly, you can check out the web and get tips from plenty of sites to make these pops.  I personally went to http://www.bakerella.com for some tips and watched her make them on Martha Stewart.  And they make it look sooo easy.  And well, it wasn’t.   You learn from your failures and while these pops certainly were delicious, I’ll need to hone my skills a bit.  Maybe my pops were just too big, making them far too fragile.  Maybe I was just being too stingy with the chocolate coating bc I didn’t want to blow the whole bag on an experiment.  Maybe a while lot of things.  In the end, I was able to make 20 pops.  I destroyed a good 8.  And the destroyed 8, tainted my white chocolate…and I was a very grumpy woman.  Will I make these again?  Yes, without a doubt.  They’re wonderfully fun and really make people happy.  Just don’t start the project thinking you’re going to finish with beautiful, perfect pops.

I’m not including any recipes, since this was really just a trial run.  You can get instructions on marthastewart.com or bakerella.com–and well, i have nothing useful to offer 🙂  But if you’re curious, the cakepop you see here is simply just the Hershey’s Perfect Chocolate cake recipe with my cream cheese frosting.

Dipping the stick into the chocolate first helps it adhere to the cake

Gently dip cake pop into melted white chocolate

nom nom nom

Unfortunately, I don’t have pictures of the second wave of pops since I was running very late for a family bbq, but they were significantly better.  And I covered them with fine oreo crumbs.  Yeah, they were kinda a hit.  Next time, I’ll invest a bit more time and effort into beautifying them (so excuse my pictures). Enjoy!

