Peanut Butter Pie and Joy Luck Club (the movie) are synonymous to me.  I know, let me explain.  I remember watching that movie in elementary school, so excited to watch a movie that featured Asian women.  That just goes to show you that no matter how old you are, you are well aware of how much, how little, and generally just how people of ethnic origin are depicted in mainstream media.  Let’s do a quick U-turn and get back on track to what I was trying to explain, shall we?

The movie is comprised of interconnecting vignettes, but I’m going to focus on Rose’s story.  A young Chinese American woman who ends up falling for Caucasian classmate.  To woo him she makes his favorite dessert–peanut butter pie.  I remember thinking, “That sounds pretty gross!”  I envisioned dense, thick layers of dry peanut butter topped with whipped cream topped with drizzles of chocolate.

Fast forward 15 years or so, and I’m now a college educated, working professional.  During lunch, my coworkers and I (well, more them than me…) were discussing their favorite desserts and what dessert they’d like me to bring in next.  One of them suggested Peanut Butter Pie–his favorite.  Flashback to Rose watching (not eating) the peanut butter pie she makes for Ted.  I grimace a bit…but he goes on to describe the creamy textures, light peanut butter accents, and the decadent cross between cheesecake and mousse…and I was pretty much sold.

And thank goodness I did.  It’s absolutely delicious!  Creamy, light…I’ve never had anything like it.  Wonderful…and definitely aesthetically pleasing.  Give it a try, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

I decided to make single serving sizes.

****If you’re looking to spruce up this dessert, add some bananas!  I like to add a nice slice of banana onto the cookie pie crust before pouring in the batter.  It really gives the dessert a nice twist.

Get in my belly!

Peanut Butter Pie

Pie Filling
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese
1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 12-oz container of cool whip
Oreo Pie Crust
1 1/2 cups finely ground Oreos
1/4 cups melted unsalted butter
1 tbsp granulated sugar
Whipped Cream Topping
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1-3 tbsps confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Toppings
1/4 cup finely ground Oreos
Hershey’s chocolate syrup
5-6 Coarsely chopped Reese’s peanut butter cups.

Directions
To make cookie crust: Preheat oven to 350°.  Prepare muffin tin by filling with paper liners.  In a bowl, combine Oreo crumbs, sugar and melted butter.  Mix to combine evenly.  Crust should be moist.  Fill cupcake liners with about 1 tbsp of cookie mixture.  Press down on the crumbs to make firm, flat surface.  Bake in oven for 5-7 minutes, until shell hardens.  Remove from oven and allow to cool.
Pie filling: In a large bowl fixed to a stand mixer, mix peanut butter with cream cheese and confectioner’s sugar.  Once combined, add Cool Whip and mix until smooth.  Once crust has cooled, gently spoon filling into pie shell.
Whipped Cream: Make sure whipping cream is very cold.  In a metal bowl, whip the cream, sugar, and vanilla until cream is fluffy and you see soft peaks.  Do not overbeat or you’ll end up with thick and chunky curds.
Garnish pie with whipped cream and top off with chopped peanut butter cups, chocolate syrup and oreo crumbs–and voila! Nom nom nom…
Adapted from All recipes
