My boy friend Michael turned 27 last week and I really wanted to do something special.  Not just because it was his birthday, but because he’s been inundated with so much school work.  For those of you who do not know, Mike decided to go back to school this year to get a Master’s in Computer Science.  I assure you, it’s no easy feat and my wonderful boyfriend has worked extraordinarily hard to keep his 4.0 (He would kill me for saying this–since this is only his first year…but I’m so proud and I can’t help it! I cough it up to his modesty).

We were all set to go out and grab some BBQ at Naples Rib Company in Belmont Shore with a handful of great friends and head back to our place for some drinks and general socializing.  And what says 27 like a dessert buffet?  If you say otherwise–you’re just crazy.

On the menu? I decided the birthday cake itself would be a fresh strawberry cake with strawberry frosting.  I would then finish up the dessert buffet-o-rama with: Banana cupcake with Maple Frosting, Red Velvet Cheesecake Cups, and S’more Cupcakes.

I started baking around 8pm Friday night and my friends–I was up until 6 in the morning.  Baking so many things in my tiny kitchen was such a fiasco!  I even doze off about 10 minutes around 3am–rendering my red velvet cheesecakes overcooked!  So I threw those out and started again from scratch.  By the end of the first night, I had finished all the banana cupcakes, strawberry cake, and red velvet cheesecake. After a 4 hour nap, I went back to work on the S’more cupcakes and all the different frostings.

I was insanely tired by dinnertime, but I’m happy to report that the evening was a success!

I’m posting some pictures and I’ll follow up this post of some recipes!

